The Nation State is dead.

Dying, is probably the better word. Governments have proved that they are incapable of working for the good of the people. In 59 year old independent India, the average taxpayer is unhappy. From the toothpaste he uses in the morning, to the mosquito repellent he uses while going to sleep, everything is taxed. Where is all this tax money going? Why is my government bent on increasing my tax burden, he asks.

It is obvious that corporations have shown themselves to be better at doing the things government ought to be doing. Even if I hold 1 share in a corporation, the management is answerable to me for their decisions. Is my government answerable? I dont think so.

When many shareholders are unhappy with the management, they can vote the management out. In that sense, the corporation resembles the nation state, except that all corporations are based on the simplest concept in the world, profit. on the other hand, nation states are based on warm fuzzy unclear concepts of ‘unity in diversity’ and ‘one nation, under god’ and have no defined purpose to work towards.

Wikipedia says..

..the most obvious impact of the nation-state, as compared to its non-national predecessors, is the creation of a uniform national culture, through state policy. The model of the nation-state implies that its population constitute a nation, united by a common descent, a common language, and many forms of shared culture..

Is the creation and maintenance of a common culture enough? If that is what a nation state is about, I reject my nationality.

Any human collective should be able to provide for the needs of the members of the collective, but not dictate what they should and shouldnt do. Imposing a moral code of conduct and bias towards certain forms of religion are counter productive to the development of humans as a species, this should be crystal clear to our lawmakers. Unfortunately, government in the modern sense is probably best described by comedian Goundamani in the movie Gentleman ‘Cover la amount potu kudukardhu dhaan pa government’. In such a scenario, we cannot trust our government to choose what is right for us.

President Kalam has given the youth of India a seven point oath, in order to achieve his vision of developed India 2020.

1. I realize, I have to set a goal in my life. To achieve the goal, I will acquire the knowledge, I will work hard, and when the problem occurs, I have to defeat the problem and succeed.

2. As a youth of my nation, I will work and work with courage to achieve success in all my tasks and enjoy the success of others.

3. I shall always keep myself, my home, my surroundings, neighbourhood and environment clean and tidy.

4. I realize righteousness in the heart leads to beauty in the character, beauty in the character brings harmony in the home, harmony in the home leads to order in the nation and order in the nation leads to peace in the world.

5. I will lead an honest life free from all corruption and will set an example for others to adopt a righteous way of life.

6. I will light the lamp of knowledge in the nation and ensure that it remains lit for ever.

7. I realize, whatever work I do if I do the best, I am contributing towards realizing the vision of developed India 2020.

Ironically, if the phrase ‘developed India’ is replaced with any word, say Microsoft or IBM or Infosys, the oath still makes sense. You dont have to be an ‘Indian’ to take this oath!

Dont get me wrong, I am proud of my roots, and if I were able to choose where to be born again, I would choose India again and again. But I honestly feel that, in todays world order, corporate identity is primary, nationality is secondary.

5 Responses to The Nation State is dead.

  1. Ponnarasi says:

    Nice post..thought provoking.
    BTW u r tagged..Pls write if u feel 2 : )

  2. Ponnarasi says:

    Happy bday! πŸ™‚ Came 2 know through Badri πŸ™‚

  3. AM Aravind says:

    Scudie,
    thou art tagged πŸ˜€

  4. gp says:

    I agree, forging a uniform cultural indentity means next to nothing in this fast world. All countries needs good branding and good vision for it to excell economically more than anything. Personal belief will shape the person, not a national identity. The national identity must work in totality to bring development so that the people can appreaciate it.

  5. […] up dickhead, your ideas are from a different century. The Nation State is dead Filed under: 53480 […]

Leave a Reply

